Distance is these



Victory is to the lips when it puffs a smoke

Only partially in the case of

Itunes playing Interpol’s PDA
(It’s a grim rite, to sleep, because

We are alone, and far away)

What is distance?

When you were sixteen, you were

reading Haruki, I was

meeting Ernest and James.

When you were spending lunch in the library,

I was finding bones

for my thesis.

Distance is hardly a

Facebook post away;

Not my relation to the air,

or the pen; is sometimes

a bus ride away; is death

and all of us, is the other side

of understanding.

That is, I can only understand you

If you were once away.

And that is, further, the potential for understanding

Is unending, because you are always away.

 

Distance is because

Holden’s smile I cannot see.

It is because spaces are

needed in sentences;

(again: why understanding

is the obverse)

Sundays are needed in a week;

Halftimes in basketball games (earlier, the Bulls trail the Pacers)

Tracking shots in Truffaut’s films;

“others” in us.

 

But these:

Distance shies away

When hitting the keys someone wears

When almost crying about loaf breads dogs eat

When smelling smokes someone smokes

When what exist are the dark and talk

When there’s a bottle of Gatorade and a can of beer

And palm geographies not meant for palm readers

Victory is to the lips when it puffs a smoke

When Kopiko powder turns to liquid and I drink

When pens create letters like these

When I fuck waters and I don’t sink

When all our hesitations are at the least.

 

Distance is a foe. And there is winning.


8 thoughts on “Distance is these

  1. Kind words, sa’yo ata yung blog na sabi: i want violent reactions. Violent reactions kill the weak, the coward, the complacent, the lazy, the stupid, the dangerous in us. I write too much. But thanks, for that adjective, “nice” 🙂

    1. I’m not in the least kind. I could be vicious when it comes to giving my comments especially when the article disturbs me. 😀

      That’s why I’m always a victim of cyberbullying. LOL

      I said ‘nice’ coz I never be able to make a poem like this. I always make a poem with those rhymes (Talk about childishness). And I really struggle to make poems with modern connotations. But you can count on me when it comes to writing Haiku. 😀

  2. poem with rhymes, they are cute, not childish. both the old ones that really usually rhyme, and sound good, and the contemporary ones that respects rhyme not only for the virtue of tradition. at haiku, perhaps if i look more earnestly through your blog, i could locate them. at polsci-econ ka pala, so perhaps we’ll meet more in your posts like that regarding aguirre. 🙂

    1. Haha! Sometimes, I post articles and essays just to insult everyone’s intelligence. I don’t think you could see it (poems) in my blog. I do it the traditional way meaning sitting under the mango tree with pen and paper. 😀
      Hindi ko pa ata naililipat.

      1. Well, in my case, I still write poems long hand, then I just encode them here if I feel like to. Anyplace can be a place for writing poetry, the more seemingly improbable, the better. I’d be looking around your blog more, and I hope my intelligence won’t be insulted. 🙂

  3. hello, ivanlayne,

    tila nga yata kabalinunaan ng panahon – ang malapit ay tila malayo at ang malayo ay para na ring malapit – sa tulong ng teknolohiya at plataporma… habang ang mundo ay patuloy na umiikot dala ang mga tradisyunal na lamat at pagitan, ang kabataan ay nagbabasa ng mga aklat ukol sa ligalig, tumatango sa binabasa bagama’t ang hidwaang batid ay tila yaong dala’t hatid lamang ng laptop. ^^

    but there is distance and distance. as well as discords and drifts. oh, well… cheers! 🙂

  4. ayos! kaya sa ganitong panahon, pinakamainam pa rin tingin ko ang ganito: amuyin ang usok, tikman ang sigaw, salatin ang pag-iisa, tingnan ang hangin, pakinggan ang ilaw. or magsulat, do something that will be ours. 🙂 thank you for being here!

Prick my mind:

